It’s about time ….

Guest Blogger: Felicia

Yep.  Here it is almost the end of April and it’s about time for those New Year’s Resolutions to be forgotten.  You know the ones.

1.  Lose weight

2.  Call my mother more often

3.  Save money

4.  Lose weight

5.  Read my Bible every day

6.  Volunteer at my kid’s school

7.  Lose weight

And on and on they go until March–or April if you’re really committed.  I belong to that sacred group of New Year’s Resolution failures.  I gave up making them years ago (maybe decades ago!).  Just don’t have the strength of character to keep even the simplest of them.  I didn’t like feeling like a failure when I flopped so . . . out the window they went.  Until this year.

God was really speaking to me at the end of the year last year about love.  Here’s the verse that He used.  You might know it.

Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength.

Mark 12:30

Written in red.  Can’t get around this one.  Jesus said it very clearly.  It’s loving God first, last and everything in between.  And the last time I checked my Greek, all meant all.  Everything.  I think I’ve said this before but I’m sure that I admire God, respect Him, fear Him and am thankful for Him.  But love Him with ALL of my heart, soul, mind and strength?  Not so sure on that one.  That’s where I want to be.  I kept feeling that familiar nudge in my spirit to push forward with this.  So . . . I made a New Year’s Resolution.  I’m going public with it.  Now you know.   This time there’s something different.  I’m not trying.  I’m asking God to show me what this looks like – this loving Him with all my heart soul, mind and strength.

It’s about time, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

