End of the Year Exhaustion

Guest Blogger:  Felicia Swinford

I know it’s not the end of the calendar year but it is nearing the end of the school year and if you have children in school that is a BIG deal.  If you are a teacher of children it’s a BIGGER deal.  This is a time of utter exhaustion.  Not much energy left.

I’ve stated before that I’m studying Psalm 119.  There are 176 verses in it so it’s going to take awhile.  I’ve noticed a word that keeps popping out.  Revive.  Here are some definitions that I’ve found.

  • Revive – to return to life, consciousness, vigor, strength, or a flourishing condition; to recover from financial depression; to be quickened, restored, or renewed, as hope, confidence, suspicions, or memories; to return to notice, use, or currency, as a subject, practice, or doctrine; to become operative or valid again. (reference – Dictionary.com)
  • Revive – to live, have life, remain alive, sustain life, live prosperously, live for ever, be quickened, be alive, be restored to life or health to revive, be quickened.  (reference – Strong’s Concordance, Hebrew)

Now here’s what God’s Word says.

Psalm 119:26 – My soul cleaves to the dust; revive me according to Your word.

Psalm 119:50 – This is my comfort in my affliction, that Your word has revived me.

Psalm 119:93 – I will never forget Your precepts, for by them You have revived me.

Do you see?  The psalmist knows that God’s Word will revive, return, restore or renew his life.  They aren’t just black words on a white page.  They are the words from God Himself!  Meant to be read, studied, memorized and loved.  This incredibly long psalm is full of passages just like these.  Longing for God and His Word.  In the New Testament Peter says something similar:  “Lord, to whom shall we go?  You have the words of eternal life.” (John 6:68)  There is no parallel; nothing even close.

How are you revived?

Leave a Reply

